A letter to Shakespeare

Wordsmith colony
Teenage lane
India

1 February 2016

English writers block
Gate 1616- Dramatist’s paradise
Heaven.

Respected Shakespeare Sir,

Take my salutation into consideration and do proceed with the letter . First let me out of my sheer morbid curiosity and politeness ask, Sir how is your stay in heaven? I sincerely hope you are comfortable and cheerful because on earth situations are not so grand. I hope you are full of felicity at your grand success in the literature world. I completely agree with the world and myriad of geniuses that you are the greatest dramatist of all time and ‘course a supreme poet. Well I sincerely hope your fame has reached the eerie yet magnificent heaven. Now when I am hearty content with your health and happiness let’s proceed onto the topics at hand.

Sir I have a few queries that I need answered and I hope that you will be kind enough to do so. The first and foremost thing that baffled me was how did you know what the human civilization was going to end up like in the future? What I meant dear sir is that your dramas are the perfect portrayal of today’s society. Did you had a magical mysterious ruby jeweled mirror or something of that kind that reflected the future? Or is it just the fate of every society to decline and fall after its exuberant rise. History repeats itself , for the cycle of rise and fall could be traced from Rome to Athens. And you dear sir are very well aware of that. But can’t the cycle just end at the rise and set a enrapturing example. I know you are laughing at me , saying that it’s a cycle, and a cycle cannot end at a point but be continuous. I know your answer will be a clear and wise no, well Never mind.

Now that you have seen and understood that humanity is falling in its own trap like it’s succumbed to decline and ruin. You must be feeling sorry. Well don’t worry because you yourself made clear that after every great tragedy either a man’s fate is that of Antonio or that of Brutus. Either a man understands like king lear understood or he dies utterly consumed in his own plethora of ego like Macbeth.  But whatever turn the man will take, Victory will always be of the one who is righteous.

Dear Shakespeare Sir,  through your wit , humour , passion , power , love , lust , politics , omens , forecasts , wisdom , cruelty , internal conflicts and game of thrones,  you being the wise being you are, showed us different ways out of trouble , all we need to do is to read them intently and be passionate in doing so.  Thank you so much for jotting down the future of present mankind in the past.

Sir I love your writings and above all I respect your wisdom . The way you sum up whole life in a few sentences and the way you express emotions in words that can even wield the matter. Your dialogues are the perfect example of silky emotions blend with iron will and logic in the perfect proportion. The grotesque coldness of time and the illogical decrepit ignorance of Lords were described on the flaxen flyleaf in a graceful manner.

Sir I hope for you all kinds of bliss and joy wrapped in incandescent smiles. I will again write to you when I again fail to understand the aim of human kind . Until then Adieu . Do shower your dramatic blessings on me and give my sincere respect to Sir G.B.Shaw , Sir Ben Johnson , Sir .Samuel Beckett , Sir Arthur Miller and the whole crew.
Do write if possible,
If impossible
Write all the same.

Yours faithful young wordsmith
Akanksha Krishnatre.

P.S : I cherish your writings, for they act as a flickering flame in the darkness of unknown. Happy writing.

14 thoughts on “A letter to Shakespeare

  1. This is awesome! And I hope he writes back. lol. I adore Shakespeare a lot and this letter to him describes how exactly I appreciate his literary works. Good job on this and I love how you wrote it. Couldn’t have written it better myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Imaginative. Good point about history repeating. Not only Greece and Rome, but Spain, Holland, and England had their times as the dominant power. And now, the U.S. appears not to have learned their lessons, speaking about the economic system. The political system is tilting uncomfortably closer toward a dictatorial authoritarian in Hitler’s mold, but Shakespeare didn’t witness him. I wonder how he’d have written about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! Countries that hold the most power should learn to respect it. Politics has now no longer remained a way for people to elect the best but a game for Throne. I am sure Shakespeare would have depicted Hitler in the same way he portrayed fools consumed in ego and power and living in their own reality called delusion. Anyway Thank a lot for stopping by. Happy Writing.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Saurav kumar jha says:

    I read very few of shakespere’s litreture but this letter to sir Shakespeare is forcing me to go through more of his art, thanks a lot for making me do so which make me to go in different world of litreture

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

