My guide

Dearest Papa

Where shall I begin? Why not from the beginning. From the exact moment of time my conscience kicked into action and I can remember,  I know and I am aware of the fact that I was and I am proud to have you as my father. You know how to laugh insanely with me at my not-so-funny incidents , and you also are aware of the way to control the rage that I have , fueled directly from hell.

You , being the bibliophile you are , casted the precious ailment to me and made me a bookworm too. I cannot thank you enough for showing me the path to living different lives over and over again through words encrypted upon pages. Good lord! Now that I think about it , you were the one who always made sure that I was never short on classic novels.

You spoile me in an educational manner, in a way that I now can hold my ground and not let anyone trample upon my works. You make me confident of my potential to achieve. You made sure that my world was not only based upon books but I also had a firm grasp of school. Due to you today I even hold a  good result and abundance of knowledge, which when compared to you is still very less.

You remind me that I am a leader at heart. A teenager with enough courage to give her thoughts a strong voice , and I am grateful for that reminder. You were the reason I stood for the selection of House captain at my school ,and as you had foretold I became one. You know my future more than I have planned it.

Sometimes through the years I have heard you say ,that in me you see your own reflection. And take note of my words dear Dad ,that at that moment I could not be more proud of myself.

You , due to your drive towards history and literature,  often write and you were the first person to push me in the field of blank pages, pen, Ink and ideas . And now that through years I have grown and hold a much better understanding of the concept of writing , I remember that you were the one to hear my first work of poetry and with uncontained joy proclaimed that I could be a very strong and powerful poet. I know from looking back that my first poem was quite childish with attempted rhyme scenes ,written in the age of 9, yet you showed belief in me from the start.

Papa, for being my ideal, the person I believe in, the one I aspire to be like, whose dream I strive to fulfill. I would just simply like to thank you for everything. Be it the late night debates on writers or the heated discussion regarding economy or simply a combined view regarding politics or two different thoughts about a story. Whatever be it , you helped me grow in to the person that I today am.

You helped me develop in fields once beyond my comprehension, like a knowledgeable citizen of a developing country . You dear Dad, made me more of an individual than a person. So simply Thank you .

Your bibliophile little daughter
Akanksha Krishnatre

5 thoughts on “My guide

Leave a Reply

