The Things We do for Love.

​As I dip the quill
In your blood,
Swirling the thick liquid
In circles.
Writing poetries,
That exist on the undertones of flesh.
Branding the heart,
Cushioned with the proddings of my pen.
In those fearfully bright lit eyes,
Which hold the abyss
And void with reflecting light.
I sway the rose,
The lilies,
And the wolfsbane
In your crimson fuel,
Ablaze.

I swirl and sway with the rhythm,
Of your still pumping heart
Which gives the music,
That once was the reason to breathe.
Now a necessity to live.

So I encase it
In a big black box,
With locks and keys guarded.
More strongly than
The heart of Davy Jones. 
Upon your fiery lips,
I place the cool petals,
That once were adored
By your kisses.

And mirrors in your bosom,
To hold me infinitely
There somewhere.
Where once a heart lied
Now lies a hollow socket,
Reeking of affection and adoration.

So that heart cased in cage,
And those lilies stand in a vase
Dripping drop by drop,
The tales of life.
Slowly unweaving the silk threads
That once bound you and me.

So the thick petals of roses,
Dipped in the elixir of your blood
Are now curled with heat of your cheeks.
They have lost their tenderness,
Changing to the hollow human
That you now are left.
So I place them upon your picture
Relishing the metaphor.

On the slaughter counter
Lies your pious body.
No longer the chest moves
Up and down.
No longer a fire burns in eyes
And the socket has lost a heart.
But still in those loathed images
You stand beautiful.
Oh so beautiful.
I stand back and look
At the masterpiece.
My Magnum opus.
You.
On the counter with the pale face reflected
In the blue lights of ovens flame.
Ready to embrace you,
Adore you in its flames. 
To hold you down,
To lull you to sleep.
A sleep where dreams
Are afraid to enter
In the fear of being marked forever.

So you my Masterpiece,
are like a lost painting of Picasso,
That I finally completed.

(c) Akanksha Krishnatre.

27 thoughts on “The Things We do for Love.

  1. You know it’s the best feeling in the world when you recommend someone a novel you like. You relive the moment when you’ve read it for the first time. My favorite Is Brandon Sanderson though, mistborn ❀

    Liked by 1 person

      • Already read it, it’s amazing, In-fact its in my top five. Every character has a unique form of solitude related to it. N the confusing names πŸ˜› I liked Colonel and his father’s character the most. Old Ursula was amazing, and that killing of 3000 people. everything was so perfect. The gypsies, their inventions <3, n when Jose discovered earth is round. I loved the Insomnia wala part. well i can talk all day about it πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sweta says:

    Love the opening stanza :

    ​As I dip the quill
    In your blood,
    Swirling the thick liquid
    In circles.
    Writing poetries,
    That exist on the undertones of flesh.
    Branding the heart,
    Cushioned with the proddings of my pen.
    In those fearfully bright lit eyes,
    Which hold the abyss
    And void with reflecting light.
    I sway the rose,
    The lilies,
    And the wolfsbane
    In your crimson fuel,
    Ablaze.

    And ofcourse the reference of “Davy Jones”.

    Horrifically beautiful!! 😈

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

